Football News Match Updates

Super League Founding Clubs Commit to UEFA

Super League Founding Clubs Commit to UEFA

Last night saw nine of the original twelve Super League Founding Clubs commit to UEFA.

Among the nine were the ‘Big Six’ – the English giants of the Premier League. Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal, Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur, and Manchester United apologized for their involvement in the breakaway league.

The Super League would have undermined UEFA’s much-celebrated European tournament- Champions League.

Ironically, this season, the two Champions League finalists are the ones who championed the Super League- Chelsea and Manchester City. They’re also fighting for the domestic top-flight title, which they would’ve been banned from by Premier League.

However, they are also the ones who backed out first. Chelsea were the first to develop cold feet, and within a matter of hours, City followed.

Both clubs, along with the rest of the Big Six, issued public requests to initiate their withdrawal from the tournament.

Now, after being the first to withdraw, all six Premier League clubs are also among the clubs ready to commit again to the UEFA.

Super League Founding Clubs Commit to UEFA

Nine of the twelve Founding Clubs have readily declared their commitment to UEFA. Along with the EPL Big Six, Inter Milan and AC Milan from Italy and Atletico Madrid from Spain also committed.

They all renewed their commitments to UEFA competitions at continental and domestic level.

Further, as a gesture of their commitment, the clubs will make a combined 15m euro (just over £13m) goodwill contribution. These funds will go into benefitting children’s and grassroots football across Europe.

Besides this, the clubs will have five per cent of UEFA competition revenues withheld for one season.

This money will be redistributed. (Exactly how it will be spent, whether going to the same cause or absorbed surreptitiously by UEFA, we don’t know.)

They face fines of 100m euros (almost £87m) each if they try to join an unauthorised competition in the future.

And UEFA will levy a fine of 50m euros if they breach any other terms of the declaration.

These nine clubs will also re-join the influential lobbying group the European Club Association.  

The Unyielding

However, three Founding Clubs have not renounced the Super League – Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus.

Real’s president Florentino Perez would’ve been the Super League Chairman, and ex-Barca president Josep Maria Bartomeu masterminded the league format.

These two Spanish giants, along with the Italians at Juventus, will likely face “appropriate action” under UEFA’s disciplinary action.

Related posts

Origi Wanted by Wolves

Samprati Lavana

Lazio Coach: Borussia Remains at the Top Because She Has a Really Great Team

Samprati Lavana

Jozy Altidore Believes Pentagon Videos Capturing “Aerial Anomalies” Proves the Existence of Aliens

Samprati Lavana

Leave a Comment